MINUTES

OF THE PROCEEDINGS OF A MEETING OF NORTHAMPTON BOROUGH COUNCIL HELD AT THE GUILDHALL, NORTHAMPTON, ON THURSDAY THE NINETEENTH DAY OF MAY 2005 AT ELEVEN O'CLOCK IN THE MORNING.

PRESENT: HIS WORSHIP THE MAYOR Councillor W B Massey (in the Chair).

COUNCILLORS: Acock, Allen, Barron, Beardsworth, Caswqell, Church, Crake, Duncan, Edwards, Eldred, Flavell, Glynane, Hadland, Hill, B Hoare, M Hoare, Hollis, Hope, Lane, Larratt, C Lill, J Lill, McCutcheon, Malpas, B Markham, I Markham, Marriott, Mason, Palethorpe, Patterson, Perkins, Pritchard, Roy, Simpson, Stewart, Tavener, Taylor, Wire and Woods.

1. APOLOGIES.

An apology for absence was received from Councillor Robinson.

2. ELECTION OF MAYOR

Councillor Church proposed and Councillor Simpson seconded: "That Councillor Sally Beardsworth be elected Mayor of the Borough of Northampton for the ensuing year". The motion was carried and Councillor Sally Beardsworth was then elected Mayor and accepted office by making and delivering to the Chief Executive the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

3. VOTE OF THANKS TO OUTGOING MAYOR AND MAYORESS

Councillor Hadland proposed and Councillor Church seconded;" That the thanks of the Council be given to Councillor W B Massey and Mrs Joan Massey for the able and courteous manner in which they have discharged their duties as Mayor and Mayoress during their term of office". The motion was carried.

4. ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR

Councillor Larratt proposed and Councillor Wire seconded: "That Councillor Lill be appointed to the office of Deputy Mayor for the ensuing year." The motion was carried and Councillor C Lill was appointed Deputy Mayor and accepted office by making and delivering to the Chief Executive the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

5. LONG SERVICE

The long service of those employees shown in paragraph 5 of the Agenda be noted with appreciation.

6. APPOINTMENTS

RESOLVED:

That the decision of full Council on 16th May regarding interim political Committee and other memberships and related matters be endorsed and that Councillor Caswell be appointed as portfolio holder for the Planning, Transportation and Regeneration portfolio and that Councillor Lane be appointed to the Community safety and E-Government portfolio to replace Councillors C Lill and Tavener respectively. It was further agreed that the vacancies on the Overview and Scrutiny Committees be filled by substitutes until the June meeting of Council.